Shanghai SMIC Private School - International

Secondary (Grades 6-12)

We strive to educate and nurture students to become global citizens of honor and self-discipline who are committed to independent thinking and service to others. We achieve this vision by implementing the following:

  • Emphasis on students’ moral values and character development
  • A school structure that integrates Chinese and Western educational philosophies
  • More than 70 full-time qualified and committed overseas teachers and administrators
  • A fully levelized program in Chinese language instruction for both native speakers and second language learners
  • An authorized SAT and AP Testing Center by the US College Board
  • An authorized ACT Testing Center by the US ACT, Inc.
  • American-based curricular standards
  • A partnership to provide SAT development classes
  • 14-18 AP course offerings annually
  • A participating member of China International School Sports Association (CISSA) and Shanghai International School Athletic Council (SISAC) teams
  • 100% acceptance of SMIC graduates into top-tiered colleges and universities world-wide
  • 100 community service hours required for high school graduation
  • A full-service counseling department for guidance and personal counseling
  • Individualized and specialized college counseling services for juniors and seniors
  • After-school homework support for academically challenged students
  • Cross-age mentorship program to better enhance and develop students' social and leadership skills
  • Vibrant extracurricular activities like International Day, Sports Day, field trips, Model United Nations (MUN), prom, dances, art exhibitions, student plays, and music concerts
  • Steadfast support from one of China’s best semiconductor foundries



SMIC Private School -
International
WASC Accredited


K-12 Administration

Kelley RidingsDr. Kelley Ridings
International K-12 Principal






Monica Utley
K-12
Curriculum &
Professional Development
Coordinator

Laura LiuLaura Liu
Assistant to the
K-12 Principal

Secondary Administration

Patrick CarrollPatrick Carroll
Vice Principal for Secondary
Bethany Bates
Bethany Bates
MHS SA Director


Connie ZhaoConnie Zhao
MHS AA Senior Assistant
Kitty Chen


Kitty Chen
MHS AA Assistant


For general information or questions, please email MHSAcademicAffairs@smicschool.com or MHSStudentAffairs@smicschool.com


Upcoming Events

  • November 2017 Thursday - November 23, 2017
    • Giving Tree distribution
    Friday - November 24, 2017
    • Thanksgiving Holiday
  • December 2017 Saturday - December 2, 2017
    • Art for Charity Performance (ACP)
    • MS CISSA Table Tennis Tournament
    Tuesday - December 12, 2017
    • Q2 Progress Reports emailed
    Friday - December 15, 2017
    • Christmas/Holiday Concert
    Monday - December 25, 2017
    • Christmas Holiday
    Thursday - December 28, 2017
    • Foreign Language Film Festival
    • Homecoming Night/Alumni Game
  • January 2018 Monday - January 1, 2018
    • New Year Holiday
    Friday - January 5, 2018
    • Chinese New Year Festival
    Thursday - January 11, 2018
    • Dead Week begins at 4:30pm
    Monday - January 15, 2018
    • Q2/S1 Exams
    Tuesday - January 16, 2018
    • Q2/S1 Exams
    Wednesday - January 17, 2018
    • Q2/S1 Exams
    Thursday - January 18, 2018
    • Last day of Q2/S1
    • Q2/S1 Exams
    Friday - January 19, 2018
    • Senior Grades due by 9AM
    Saturday - January 20, 2018
    • HS SISAC D1 & D2 Basketball Tournaments
    Tuesday - January 23, 2018
    • Grades and Comments due at 8AM
    • PD Days
    Wednesday - January 24, 2018
    • PD Days
    Thursday - January 25, 2018
    • Report Card distribution
    Friday - January 26, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Saturday - January 27, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Sunday - January 28, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Monday - January 29, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Tuesday - January 30, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Wednesday - January 31, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
  • February 2018 Thursday - February 1, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Friday - February 2, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Saturday - February 3, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Sunday - February 4, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Monday - February 5, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Tuesday - February 6, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Wednesday - February 7, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Thursday - February 8, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Friday - February 9, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Saturday - February 10, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Sunday - February 11, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Monday - February 12, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Tuesday - February 13, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Wednesday - February 14, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Thursday - February 15, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Friday - February 16, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Saturday - February 17, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
    Sunday - February 18, 2018
    • Winter Break/Spring Festival
powered by finalsite