Shanghai SMIC Private School - International

Secondary (Grades 6-12)

We strive to educate and nurture students to become global citizens of honor and self-discipline who are committed to independent thinking and service to others. We achieve this vision by implementing the following:

  • Emphasis on students’ moral values and character development
  • A school structure that integrates Chinese and Western educational philosophies
  • More than 70 full-time qualified and committed overseas teachers and administrators
  • A fully levelized program in Chinese language instruction for both native speakers and second language learners
  • An authorized SAT and AP Testing Center by the US College Board
  • An authorized ACT Testing Center by the US ACT, Inc.
  • American-based curricular standards
  • A partnership to provide SAT development classes
  • 14-18 AP course offerings annually
  • A participating member of China International School Sports Association (CISSA) and Shanghai International School Athletic Council (SISAC) teams
  • 100% acceptance of SMIC graduates into top-tiered colleges and universities world-wide
  • 100 community service hours required for high school graduation
  • A full-service counseling department for guidance and personal counseling
  • Individualized and specialized college counseling services for juniors and seniors
  • After-school homework support for academically challenged students
  • Cross-age mentorship program to better enhance and develop students' social and leadership skills
  • Vibrant extracurricular activities like International Day, Sports Day, field trips, Model United Nations (MUN), prom, dances, art exhibitions, student plays, and music concerts
  • Steadfast support from one of China’s best semiconductor foundries



SMIC Private School -
International
WASC Accredited


K-12 Administration

Kelley RidingsDr. Kelley Ridings
International K-12 Principal



Not Pictured


Monica Utley
K-12
Curriculum &
Professional Development
Coordinator

Laura LiuLaura Liu
Assistant to the
K-12 Principal

Secondary Administration

Patrick CarrollPatrick Carroll
Vice Principal for Secondary
Bethany Bates
Bethany Bates
MHS SA Director


Connie ZhaoConnie Zhao
MHS AA Senior Assistant
Kitty Chen


Kitty Chen
MHS AA Assistant


For general information or questions, please email MHSAcademicAffairs@smicschool.com or MHSStudentAffairs@smicschool.com


Upcoming Events

  • September 2017 Monday - September 25, 2017
    • Reading Spirit Week
    Tuesday - September 26, 2017
    • Middle School Life Skills Introduction Night
    • Reading Spirit Week
    Wednesday - September 27, 2017
    • Reading Spirit Week
    Thursday - September 28, 2017
    • Reading Spirit Week
    Friday - September 29, 2017
    • Reading Spirit Week
    Saturday - September 30, 2017
    • Reading Spirit Week
    • School day (monday schedule)
  • October 2017 Sunday - October 1, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Monday - October 2, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Tuesday - October 3, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Wednesday - October 4, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Thursday - October 5, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Friday - October 6, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Saturday - October 7, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Sunday - October 8, 2017
    • National Day holiday
    Tuesday - October 10, 2017
    • Q1 progress reports emailed
    Thursday - October 12, 2017
    • G5 Soccer Day
    Friday - October 13, 2017
    • Sports Day (students am | staff 1 day)
    Saturday - October 14, 2017
    • HS SISAC D1 & D2 Tennis Tournaments
    • HS SISAC D1 & D2 Volleyball Tournaments
    Wednesday - October 25, 2017
    • College Night
    Saturday - October 28, 2017
    • SMIC MUN
  • November 2017 Friday - November 3, 2017
    • Dead Week begins at 4:30pm
    Tuesday - November 7, 2017
    • HS Q1 Exams
    Wednesday - November 8, 2017
    • HS Q1 Exams
    Thursday - November 9, 2017
    • HS Q1 Exams
    Friday - November 10, 2017
    • HS Q1 Exams
    • Last Day of Q1
    Wednesday - November 15, 2017
    • 8:00am Report Cards and Comments due
    Friday - November 17, 2017
    • Report Card distribution
    Saturday - November 18, 2017
    • HS SISAC Table Tennis Tournament
    • MS CISSA Soccer Tournament
    • Parents' Saturday (students: am | PTC: pm)
    Thursday - November 23, 2017
    • Giving Tree distribution
    Friday - November 24, 2017
    • Thanksgiving Holiday
  • December 2017 Saturday - December 2, 2017
    • Art for Charity Performance (ACP)
    • MS CISSA Table Tennis Tournament
    Tuesday - December 12, 2017
    • Q2 Progress Reports emailed
    Friday - December 15, 2017
    • Christmas/Holiday Concert
powered by finalsite